Airsoft Reports

Discussions of airsoft guns
 
HomeHome  PortalPortal  CalendarCalendar  GalleryGallery  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  MemberlistMemberlist  Log in  

Share | 
 

 Edgi barrel mini review

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Stealthmasterairsoft14
First Lieutenant
avatar

Number of posts : 849
Age : 27
Location : Arizona
Registration date : 2007-11-02

PostSubject: Edgi barrel mini review   Fri Jan 16, 2009 3:50 pm

Hey guys, as you may know, I recently bought an Edgi 6.01mm 363mm barrel and installed it in my SRC G36K Gen 2.

http://www.edgicustom-usa.com/#aeg_barrels

Total price was $65 shipped via Fedex. ($55 for the barrel $10 shipping)

When
I received the barrel, I was having accuracy issue and I thought it was
the barrel. The performance was better than the stock barrel, but not
as much as I expected. After trying several different things (using the
stock bucking, different nubs, etc) I realized what is wrong. I'll get
back to that though

Since
I could not find any reason for my accuracy being bad, I contacted
Edgi. Ben was very very helpful, friendly, and patient and did his best
to walk me through. Because I could not find anything wrong, he sent me
a free (FREE!) Shredder's Concave Spacer and 100 AE .25s to test out.
(we were thinking the TSD .25s might be the issue) I realized the
problem was not the bucking, barrel, bbs or nub, but rather the hop up
system. While fiddling around with it, I noticed that at certain hop up
settings, the hop up arm would lean, which would cause the nub to be
pressed at an angle, thus causing a side spin. THIS was the reason for
my poor performance. I'm not sure if this is a general problem for G36
hop up units, or if I got a lemon, but that's how it is..... (I don't
believe my E1 did this, but the accuracy was pretty bad on it, so I
probably didn't notice Razz)

Sadly, I did not figure this out
until after Ben had already sent me the SCS and bbs. I feel a little
bad for for "taking" money from the company, especially during these
hard times. Thank you very much and I apologize.

That is how
amazing their customer service is. This was done all through email.
God bless Edgicustoms and the amazing
people that work there. (Is Ben the only one working there?)

Now, for the performance.

With
the Edgi barrel, stock SRC bucking, SCS, TSD .25s, and the hop up
adjusted to where the bbs don't have a side spin, I can hit a tree
around 4 inches wide from about 120 feet almost every round. (I'm
guessing like 4 out of 6 shots) The barrel is of amazing quality and
definitely gave me much better accuracy and even bumped up my fps by
maybe 15. (I don't have .2s or a Chrono, so I can't do the poorman's
test) The SCS also helped with the consistency quite a bit and is
definitely worth the price tag. ($7 bucks shipped I believe) (and yes I
know, it was free..... ) It also might have boosted my FPS slightly. (the bbs looked like they were flying a little faster)

Overall,
very very pleased with my purchase. Edgi Customs make great products
and their CS is phenomenal. I highly recommend their products to
everyone.

And if anyone is wondering, TSDs perform roughly the same as the AEs Ben sent me.

Thank you Ben and Edgi!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
bioniclebert
Captain
Captain


Number of posts : 151
Age : 25
Location : NY, USA
Registration date : 2007-07-21

PostSubject: Re: Edgi barrel mini review   Fri Jan 16, 2009 6:36 pm

Cool, and thanks for posting your experiences!
I'd like to see how some of these tightbores compare with each other. I've always been planning on buying a prometheus 363mm for my M4, but I still would like to check around for what's the best choice to go with before I buy.
-Bioniclebert

_________________
Bioniclebert is a moderator.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.acsu.buffalo.edu/~robertsz/
Stealthmasterairsoft14
First Lieutenant
avatar

Number of posts : 849
Age : 27
Location : Arizona
Registration date : 2007-11-02

PostSubject: Re: Edgi barrel mini review   Fri Jan 16, 2009 6:45 pm

According to TCF, the Edgi sniper rifle barrels perform about the same as PDI barrels and he favors Edgi because it is cheaper.

I doubt these barrels perform any worse than Prometheus, if anything I bet they are better. Their QC is amazing. After buying an Edgi barrel, a Shredder (who kinda works with them) sent me a PM and started giving for tips even though I hadn't even asked him. You can even request the bore size and length and I don't believe there is any additional fees.

In my experience, brass gets better with use, so I wouldn't be surprised if my barrel continues to get better. I got the
6.01mm and I love mine. People argue that brass scratches easier than
other materials and this is true, but as long as you are using quality
bbs (TSDs run fine) and are maintaining it regularly, I don't see why
it would wear out any faster.

You can't go wrong with either, but I think you know which brand I support. Smile
Back to top Go down
View user profile
stansalad
Lance Corporal E-3
Lance Corporal E-3
avatar

Number of posts : 53
Age : 34
Location : San Diego
Registration date : 2008-11-13

PostSubject: Re: Edgi barrel mini review   Fri Jan 16, 2009 7:05 pm

Ah, thats good that you figured out the problem! I believe that as long as you don't turn the hop up ALL the way up or down, that should not happen.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://myspace.com/stansalad
Stealthmasterairsoft14
First Lieutenant
avatar

Number of posts : 849
Age : 27
Location : Arizona
Registration date : 2007-11-02

PostSubject: Re: Edgi barrel mini review   Fri Jan 16, 2009 7:48 pm

stansalad wrote:
Ah, thats good that you figured out the problem! I believe that as long as you don't turn the hop up ALL the way up or down, that should not happn.

Actually, the gun seems to shoot best with the hop up all the way up lol. Idk why, but at certain settings, the hop up arm just gets crooked. Rolling Eyes I'm thinking my hop up wheel was poorly machined or something.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Stealthmasterairsoft14
First Lieutenant
avatar

Number of posts : 849
Age : 27
Location : Arizona
Registration date : 2007-11-02

PostSubject: Re: Edgi barrel mini review   Sun Jan 18, 2009 9:18 pm

I think my hop up arm was not made large enough, so I replaced it with a stock JG hop up arm (it is much wider) and now my gun is seriously a tack driver, even with a STOCK JG bucking.

Now all I need is to get another Systema bucking. (my SRC bucking has a tiny rip)
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Edgi barrel mini review   

Back to top Go down
 
Edgi barrel mini review
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Israeli ebay skid plate - mini review
» Mini review of the Hamilton Khaki Navy BelowZero
» New Deep Blue T100s - Mini Review
» SottoMarino...mini-review.
» New Alpine Sound System For Mini

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Airsoft Reports :: Forum :: Reviews :: User Review Submissions-
Jump to: